Live, laugh, love life

The soul angels

Lunch time today I passed by a record shop, I heard a familiar voice crooning in her fantastically calm tunes. I was right, it was Susan Wong with her new release – Just A Little Bossa Nova. I had discovered Susan Wong by chance a few months, in exactly the same manner – drawn to the voice.

She lent a bossa nova rendition to a few oldies, oh-so-splendidly done. I particularly like “Imagine”, “Just The Way You Are”, “Somewhere Beyond The Sea”..to name a few. In her previous album, I especially liked her light-hearted upbeat “I Only Wanna Be With You”. If I ever get hitched, this song will be played in my wedding!

Another singer I discovered was a China singer by the name of Snow Rose – with her soulful renditions of “Have I Told You Lately”, “Every Breath You Take”, “Especially For You” etc.. simply swept me away. Of course the other singer, another of my favourite is Emi Fujita with her “In My Life”, “From A Distance” etc….

All these angels have one thing in common: different backgrounds but they sang English songs without a tinge of weird accent – crystal clear, soulful – blended pitch-perfect with sweet oldies. My weakness is hearing an unique voice delivery of my favourite English songs. These angels are really God-send!

An excerpt of Emotion…..
It’s just emotion that’s taken me over

Tied up in sorrow, lost in my soul
But if you don’t come back
Come home to me, darling
You know that there’ll be nobody left in this world to hold me tight
Nobody left in this world to kiss goodnight
Goodnight, goodnight……….

Leave a comment